My baby girl.

This time 14 years ago I was being prepped by the anesthetist ready to bring you into the world. No makeup, no nailpolish but at least my paper hat matched my gown. Daddy was nervously strutting around waiting to take his position next to me behind the curtain for when, like a magician, the doctor would pull a baby out of his wife.

Throughout my pregnancy I quietly wished that you would be a girl. When people would ask me if I was hoping for a boy, I would wrap my arms around my belly so you couldn’t hear and mouth to them ‘I want another girl’. When the doctor popped you over the curtain, I cried. My baby girl.

I wouldn’t see you till the next day. I was sick, so Daddy had to take care of you. He took so good care of you the Nazi nurse wrote on my file ‘Father overhandling baby. Father not to handle baby’ the other nurses ignored her and saw it for what it was. A proud Daddy.

When we formally met I couldn’t believe the size of your enormous blue eyes. You were mesmerizing. Strangers would stop me in the street to just stare at you. Moo was not impressed. She was, and always will be, the show pony of the family. You would just sit and quietly survey the scenery. Your huge blue eyes and natural Shirely Temple blonde ringlets (Google the name and you will see what I mean)

You slept through the night from 6 weeks old. You were the dream baby that people speak of. Happy and content. Your biggest source of amusement was watching your sister splash in the bath. Oh how I wish I got that almost dirty cackle on video.

But I have the video of when we were madly moving into our newly bought house and you had chicken pox. Dosed up on drugs after a marathon 11 hour drive back from Grandma’s funeral. We were frantically chucking boxes anywhere when I saw you sitting on the pack porch singing Row Row Row your Boat. Daddy grabbed the camera and even though it was 4,ooo degrees in the shade I stopped and smothered you in cuddles. That is my best memory of that frantic, stressful time.

I remember when Carl came over one day when you were on the swings. He hadn’t met you before and commented on how beautiful you were and then you opened your mouth to call ‘Daddy get over here and swing me’ in your surprisingly deep voice, LOL. He nearly fell over and I nearly wet my pants laughing.

You went through an uber tomboy stage. Took the whole thing a little far with your 2 inch long hair and ultra baggy clothes. People told me to dress you properly but I knew it was a stage that you needed to go through and the photos will be great for your 21st…… Sk8r grl.

Now you are 14. In that twilight zone between little girl and woman. As I drove you to the train station this morning clutching your present from Moo and Boo that perfectly reflects the stage you are at now, a soft cuddly toy that you plug your Ipod into, I told you how much I love you. You are my ‘easy’ child and in that respect you tend to get forgotten with all the drama that your siblings and father create. Such an easy going kid, never complaining and just happy to be here. You befriend the friendless, stick up for anyone and are a kind and loving friend and daughter. You adore your brother for who he is and will do anything for him, even if that means turning off your Emo music to go and jump on the trampoline with him or do endless chin ups on the swing set, just because it makes him giggle to see you do it.

You are the sort of person that others aspire to be. I am proud of you. And I hope that I had something to do with moulding you to be the wonderful person that you are, and the amazing woman you will soon become.

Happy Birthday my baby girl.

Love Mummy.

